Skip to content

Penang : Confluence of cultures, food and a lot more…

July 19, 2010

On July 16, 2009 I travelled up north on the western coast of Malaysia. The joy of travelling alone and losing myself to the environs has been deeply imbibed in my mind and I think I will go through this experience again and again. After spending a day in Ipoh, I was on my way to the backpacker and foodie’s paradise, Penang. Penang, the cuisine capital of Malaysia is the place to be if you want to experience the cultural diversity of Malaysia. The old part of the Penang Island, known as George Town is known for his rich cultural heritage. European, Chinese, Indian and Malay establishments share boundaries with each other, all within a radius of 5-10 kms. If you ever go to Penang on a not so humid day, do go on the heritage walk in Georgetown. There might not be too much of activity or hordes of people thronging to get their pictures clicked; however the fact that people from various religions living in such peace and harmony will usher in great joy. I stayed in ‘Old Penang Guest House’ in George Town and ended up spending most of the time at the bar which was bustling with loads of activity in the next street.

There are several places to check out if you are backpacking in Penang but the place is known for its food. Do pay a visit to Batu Ferranghi and Gurney Drive and don’t forget to taste “Laksa”. It’s one of the yummiest dish I have ever had! Too bad, I ended up being at the wrong place at the wrong time on both days. Although I couldn’t taste other famous dishes in Penang, I came across several people mostly Europeans here. I shall blog about them in detail in my next post. For now, check out these pics from my trip. The bird’s eye view of the city were clicked from the top of Penang Hill when haze blanketed the city.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By,

Hemanth
Follow me at twitter: http://twitter.com/crhemanth

Bookmark  and ShareShare/Bookmark/Email/Tweet this article…..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

