Skip to content

The CCC effect…

April 26, 2009

If you ask me, what Hyderabad is famous for, 2 years ago I would have said, there’s nothing special about the city, except for the Biryani and Movies. With time, I reckon that everything has changed about Hyderabad, something which I wasn’t aware of. And this is what I call the CCC effect…Coffee, Cars and Chicks.

Although, the Coffee can never compete with our own Hyderabadi Irani Chai (with a combo of Osmania Biscuit), the sheer number of Cafe’ Coffee Days, Barista and all other kazillion places which serve as Coffee Shops have changed the way we spend our evenings. Gone are the days when the evenings were spent on watching movies on STAR Movies or watching some TV Shows on Gemini and E TV. These days, all I end up doing is wait for that phone call from anyone who’s game for a cup of coffee around 5 in theย  evening. Mind you, the place where you go to has to be a strategic location, because no matter what you do, you should never be far from the other two C’s. And hence, the location of these Coffee Shops HAS to be in the Hills of Hyderabad. There’s something special about these Hills in Hyderabad, I can’t put it in a line, maybe it’s a different way of life altogether. Probably one reason is, the crowd in the Hills have a certain attitude which I find very pleasing. And of course, there are loads of other things about them….like their Cars…

I admit that despite being a Mechanical Engineering grad, I have no clue about Cars. Absolutely No Clue. However, the discussion here isn’t about the engine or other techno stuff about cars, it’s about the brands! In the past few days, I have realised that despite the insane amount of wealth which a person has, he or she is recognised more by the Car they drive among the youth. So, if you hear your friend brag about a certain Bentley or Rolls Royce, chances are that they know exactly who’s driving that car. Astonishingly, you won’t find Mercs these days as much as you can spot BMWs, AUDIs on the roads. The other day, couple of my friends were discussing about this sudden drop in the number of Mercs and finally we came to a conclusion that it’s because, Cars are probably one of the few things you can brag about endlessly. Mind you, it has an expiry date too. So, the day their neighbour buys the same car, these kids are already planning to buy a new Ferrari…oh, by the way, Hyderabad doesn’t have a Maybach yet!…

I had no idea that Hyderabad had so many of them. Everytime I flip through page 3, I find so many of them. Of course, it’s just a fraction of what you end up seeing outside. People often compare the fashion trends of Hyderabad and Bangalore but often they forget to point out the main difference between the two cities. Bangalore is a far more cosmopolitan city than Hyderabad. So, if you come across a smoking hot hottie in Bangalore, chances are more that she isn’t from Bangalore afterall. It certainly isn’t the case with Hyderabad. We perhaps have a very indigenous crowd, hence it’s all the more exciting when you spot a cutie. The only problem here is, you have to be at certain places unlike the Brigade Roads, MG Roads, Koramangalas of Bangalore.

I am not complaining yet…I think I have just started loving this place more than ever! And with Deccan Chargers doing well at IPL, I am sure the mood around pubs, discs and coffee shops is going to be more electric in the coming few days. I raise a toast to the glorious past and a promising future….glurrppp…and I dunk my coffee….There’s a bolt of lightening outside the place I am sitting and before I can turn around, I see a “8” walk past me. I smile wondering why do two beautiful things should happen at the same time…and I bury my face into the book in my hand.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Madhu permalink
    April 27, 2009 12:22 am

    The problem with Hyderabad is its split lifestyle..Punjagutta or the hills (banajara & Jubilee) or near by places are the only happening place in hyd…the cosmopolitan culture exists only there and everything is centered around them the restaurants, the pubs and the coffee shops etc…rest other places in hyd are true hyderabadi style…every corner u find a cafe and a theater ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Vinay permalink
    April 27, 2009 10:29 am

    Hey Hemanth, check this out:
    http://screenwritingindia.com/

    thought u might find it useful ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hemanth permalink*
      April 27, 2009 3:25 pm

      hey Vinay,
      Thanks for the link dude…looks very good..are you planning to go?

  3. April 27, 2009 5:19 pm

    :O Bangalore is a matter of the past dude ๐Ÿ˜› Hyderabad [Mumbai has an upper hand with the third C one should admit]. Cars – I have no clue.I see a sedan every metro i visit.
    Coffee- Yes ๐Ÿ˜€ Aah! A lot can happen ๐Ÿ˜›
    Dude,this time no burying face into book,just approach and ask her for a coffee ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Vinay permalink
    May 4, 2009 11:42 pm

    Hey hemanth.. well, am applying for it.
    What abt. you?

Leave a Reply

