Skip to content

My 2 Cents on Independent Travel!

March 19, 2009

For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

Echo.

A lot of my friends have been asking me why I prefer to travel alone and not in large groups like I used to. Some have Kovalam Beach, Kerala, Indiaeven shown genuine concern and checked if I was doing alright. It’s not as if I woke up one fine summer morning and realized I wanted to be reclusive. Travelling alone, atleast in my case, showed me a world I couldn’t have seen in a group.Understanding local society and the Khmer’s daily way of life would have been a distant dream. Going alone will mean you won’t have to acquiesce to the loudest in the group ( which can sometimes be me too.. I don’t go to the extent of imposing my idea though…) And clearly, the interactions with travellers who have a very hazy memory of a ‘home’ since they left it for the love of the road and have been to every country you can think of are simply priceless. Even when you’re not meeting travellers left right center and get moments when you don’t have company, the distance, and the perspective it gets with it are something I miss very much. I’d have loved to find odd jobs and take to the road crisscrossing landscape by landscape and come back at 30 to rejoin the ratrace, with a world of experiences. But then, I chickened out and came back to complete my penultimate degree before taking to the road again. I really really hope I’d have seen a two dozen countries by the time I hit 30. And no, I’m not talking European countries really. I’ve made it a point to visit countries that make for challenging travel while I’m still in my prime and have the energy. North America, Europe and Oceania are so wheelchair-friendly I could go see those places during my pensioner days too. I’ve digressed so much from what I had in mind when I started writing this post already, but all I can say is if you’re saving up money for a trip abroad, please do it alone. And yeah I can come up with novel gift ideas when you come back to tell me ” I don’t know how I can thank you for …. ” 😉

I’ll try posting more often, giving useful links and stories of people who could possibly inspire you to hit the road. So long!

Starjey

About Starjey: Sri Harsha travels with a penchant for culture, people and nature. An avid photographer and a brilliant conversationalist, he has been on the road for the past couple of years all by himself. Last year he had travelled across Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam and Laos…backpacking, of course! He graduated with a dual degree in EEE and Physics from BITS, Pilani. You can check out Harsha’s work @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/shearsha/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 9:22 pm

    Many people like to travel alone because they can do what they want, when they want. With large groups in a package tour, there is the common “Be back at 2:30 sharp so we can get to the next site!” It is a more leisurely pace because it is whatever pace you want it to be.

    • Hemanth permalink*
      March 22, 2009 9:46 pm

      @Brian…Yeah Brian…Totally agree with you!..:) Thanks for visiting the blog..

  2. April 1, 2009 3:14 pm

    I too love traveling alone. How else wud you get the freedom of reading a book for hours, sitting under a tree / in a coffee shop in an unknown country… Waaw.. the very thought gives me goosebumps.

Leave a Reply

