Skip to content

Delhi-6: Movie Review

February 21, 2009

Barely an hour after watching, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra’s “Delhi-6”, I have the urge to look into the mirror and think. Think about what I see in the mirror, think about what could have been different, think if I can see myself trying to be or turning into someone else, think if I can see God! Before I go any further on what I actually saw the mirror, allow me to talk a bit about the movie which has led me to think.

“Delhi-6” is about Us, the Indians. There is no doubt in claiming that we are a mélange of extreme contradictions. We live together, yet turn against each other. Life around us is no longer what it used to be; the terms are dictated by a select few and the rest of us just follow what everyone else does. Rakeysh Mehra’s “Delhi-6” is set in Delhi, where more than any other place in India, these contradictions are omnipresent. The bylanes of Chandni Chowk stand testimony to the endearing friendship and relationship which the community, including Hindus and Musilms share. But on the other hand, Delhi with all its contrdictions could be the battleground for almost everything which has been so beautifully brought to life in Mehra’s “Delhi-6”.

Taking a cue from the actual events in 2001, where a monkey man took Delhi by storm, Delhi-6 weaves an endearing story of fear, God and human spirit. Roshan (Abhishek Bachchan), a half-Hindu half-Muslim NRI brings his ailing grandmother (Waheeda Rehman) who wishes to spend her last days in their house in Old Delhi. The chaos and the general way of life in those bylanes of Delhi intrigue Roshan so much that he slowly becomes a part of everyone’s life. And as he falls in love with the girl next door Bittu (Sonam Kapoor), he becomes increasingly associated with Delhi. But things become complicated when people around panic and drag God into an ugly spat which is both ridiculous and puzzling.

The strength as well as the weakness of Delhi-6 is in its script. It is about people, who despite all the affection and bliss are tormented by their fears and shame. So when someone points a finger at our beliefs, instead of brooding over it, we get into an offensive mode always trying to prove that we are right. Yes, we are right but occasionally it’s those same beliefs which lead us into something which is contrary to what we believe in first place. The strength of the script is in its brazen attitude in pointing out some of our fallacies in our day-to-day lives. And the weakness is that it takes a stand which might not be acceptable. We don’t like someone preaching to us via cinema, but we leave no stone unturned to attend the same preaching if its someone whom you revere doing it, no matter how many thousands of kms he/she is. Phew…if only we had the conviction to do what’s right! Then most of the problems would have never arisen in the first place. Sometimes I wonder why we have such a blind faith in God. If we had understood God properly then the world would be nothing less than a Utopia, but then amidst million different interpretations and our usual habit of not understanding something totally, we fall prey to dogma and prejudice.

The story isn’t new, but how Rakeysh Mehra places the common man in one of the most spectacular cities of India in the centre, gives it a whole new picture. Far from the grand settings, this portrayal of life is filled with confusion, chaos, love, affection, suspicion, madness. Abhishek Bachchan as the NRI doesn’t have a larger than life role in this flick, yet his character is important in weaving everything together. I think, it’s everything except Abhishek which infuses life into the story. Be it Atul Kulkarni as the innocent temple worker or Rishi Kapoor, Prem Chopra, Om Puri, Waheeda Rahman, Divya Dutta and a bunch of other people do splendidly well in their own roles. Sonam Kapoor is perhaps the best thing about Delhi-6 apart from Rahman’s soulful music. She’s just stunningly gorgeous and has a well written characterisation which she performs with tremendous grace. Who would have imagined that Sonam would turn out something like this one day! Phew…:)

Music by Rahman is another big asset to the movie. It adds life and colour to the movie and the flip-flopping of Sufi style and Bhajans juxtaposes the basic idea which this movie stands for, that we are One despite the different religions we follow. Cinematography by Binodh Pradhan is fantastic. No glossy work, yet it charismatically captures the life amidst the chaos. And did I mention about “Masakkali…Masakkali”…Woah! I just skipped a beat or two….watch it yourself!. The dialouges, lyrics and script complement the direction department. Mehra pulls off another well-crafted movie after Rang De Basanti, although this one might not be as good as his previous one. Nevertheless Delhi-6 is a beautiful movie which you ought to see and come to your own conclusion. Think about your fears. Think about your life.

We have never been able to accept the portrayal of God as the bone of contention in the society. In most cases, God is the reason why people fight. A time not too far in the future, I dream of a life where God is the reason why there is peace around…so long, so well. Ah…did I say what I saw in the mirror. I didn’t see God…I saw You. And I smile upon the fact that I was one among You. What else can I say? I end my stream of thoughts and walk into the oblivion of my own life, thinking and dreaming

P.S: Forget the ratings, Delhi-6 will most probably make you think or will end up giving you a terrible headache.

P.P.S: I think Sonam Kapoor is the most beautiful actress I have seen in a long time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2009 10:14 am

    I agree to every letter of this review! Thanks for movie company 😀

    • Hemanth permalink*
      February 21, 2009 10:23 am

      thanku..thanku..and another movie…shhheeeeaarrrr:)

  2. Banjo permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:42 am

    🙂 I think I’ll stop reviewing and wait for yours 🙂

    • Hemanth permalink*
      February 26, 2009 10:47 am

      Woah!!! Did I just hear you say that??!?! Am overwhelmed..:). Thanks a ton…

  3. Natasha86 permalink
    February 26, 2009 11:34 pm

    Gr888 film, I just love the ‘burger chaap’ scene..reminds me of my then UK returned fiance, now my husband..Lol thats what I used to call him when he put on accent & rushed to the nearest Mc Donalds.

    • Hemanth permalink*
      February 27, 2009 12:39 am

      @Natasha..The movie was pretty good! I wonder why many people found it boring!…:). I almost forgot that “Burger Chaap” scene!!…thanks for reminding…:)

  4. Rajeshwari Ganesan Iyer permalink
    March 6, 2009 4:16 pm

    I think it was a beautiful review… Liked the movie but did not know how to describe it someone who wanted to see it… Your blog gave me just the adjectives I needed 🙂
    Write on…

  5. vasavi permalink
    April 10, 2010 10:22 pm

    Wow!!! great to see some positive( atleast thats what i get from ur review) feedback on the mvi 🙂
    I just loved it!! Be it the songs…madness…Abhi..Sonam..NRI behaviour…nd not to forget the Kalabandar…i just loved it all!!! Kudos to Rakesh nd ya to u for such a nice review!!!

Leave a Reply

