Skip to content

Being Mrs.Narayanan

February 17, 2009

8:00 AM: Waking up 3 hours before your biological clock does have its share of cruelty. The environs seem all the more weird, I mean, the early morning dew, the scene of people starting their daily routine somehow freaks me out. It reminds me of my own life which every now and then happens to be in shambles. But then, considering the series of events over the last 15 hours, watching the bride and the groom lifted 6 feet above the ground perching over the shoulders of their near and dear, everything changed. For once, I was glad that I woke up early. The early morning festivities had already begun and I think I missed the “Kasi Yatra” (The Groom wearing a new chappal, holding an umbrella and a walking stick proceeds on his journey to Kasi. The father of the bride intercepts him offering his girl in marriage and bring him to Grahastha Ashramam). What I was part of at that moment was the “Maalai Maatral” (Exchange of Garlands) which is basically a traditional family entertainment!

9:00 AM: The couple was ushered in for the next ceremony called ” Oonjal Ceremony” (The Swing Ceremony). The bride and the groom are made to sit on a swing receiving blessings from their relatives while the others sing which adds to the festivity of the atmosphere. To tell you the truth, I have never seen a more happy couple! Usually atleast one of the two is either bored or tired, but not this one…:). And people kept pouring in as the main event was just about to dawn. I happened to meet few more friends from college and finally caught up with some campus gossip.

Gossip…Gossip, that’s all you want to hear and see that happening right before your eyes. Maamis enquiring about prospective brides/grooms in the circle, a search for suitable boy/girl at the venue, scanning across the hall in search of someone interesting..quite a few middle-aged men seemed to be catching up with the news on papers, maamis discussing zillion things, and the eldest of all kept their gaze at the proceedings around….phew…Marriages are fun! I wonder why I have been evading most of them so far!

Meanwhile, the Pani Grahanam, Gothram exchange ceremonies were almost over. I don’t know if it’s the same in other traditions, but the bride sits on her father’s lap during the Gothram exchange and even during the Mangalya-Dharanam. Thankfully, there were quite a few around who explained why it is like that. When I think about our marriages, most of the time it’s the groom who happens to recite all the mantras. The girl enters the scene at a very late stage. But not in an Iyer wedding…the couple is a part of everything.

9:45 AM: The symphony of naadaswaram and mridangam hit a crescendo, flowers adorned the couple and amidst the jubilation of the well-wishers, in the spring of 2009, she became Mrs.Narayanan. It’s very seldom that you see people break into tears in a split second, and that definitely was one of those moments.

Jubilation just got into a top gear, everyone congratulating the bride’s/groom’s parents; I didn’t really know what to say. I just sat and saw everything.

Her sister-in-law asked us, “Did you people cry, when everyone else was crying?”, and I wondered if the bride had cried. I hadn’t seen her cry, but they say…she did. Everyone does. Even I did, I suppose, just that the tears refused to come out. It just all happened so soon, as if already it had already been orchestrated. A perfect beginning to what I wish will be a perfect life.

12:00 PM: There’s something about South Indian food…you really feel like as if you have eaten a lot! Burp! I realised that I was getting pretty good at conversations with others. These days, I use a line which works better than, Barney’s “Haaaaavvveee you met Ted?” in HIMYM.

I just tell people, “Hello, I work for THIS company!”. Before I go any further, I realise that they have way too many things to ask . And the rest of the conversation is a cakewalk…:P

12:30 PM: The fatigue finally caught up with me and I had to leave the venue. So, there I was standing infront of one my very good buddies from college, wishing her for a glorious life ahead. And I walked back to the chaos of my life.

A beautiful wedding, new friends, catching up with old friends, all the smiles, the gossip, the plain talk and the happiest couple ever! Here’s a toast for your beautiful life ahead…

That’s how, she became Mrs.Narayanan. I know, because I was there.

Some people talk, some people smile, Some people dance, some people sing, Some people exist, Some people Live, Some people love, some people laugh, some people pray, some people write, some people think.

But they were Happy. The happy beginning…of a beautiful life.

Amen!

P.S: I realised that I just wrote my 200th post!..:)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Karthik (GK) permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:55 am

    Hemanth!
    That was wonderful! My god! It made me want to come there and attend it! But yeah, reading it gave me the impression that I indeed was around! 🙂 A toast yes, to Cho and Mr. Narayanan and for those who couldn’t quite e there, to Hemanth’s blog! 🙂

  2. February 17, 2009 9:50 am

    It just happened! With best wishes to Shy i now have to count one friend less (well yes things change after marriage) but my 14yrs of friendship with her remains 🙂

  3. February 17, 2009 10:37 am

    Beautifully written, Hemanth! 🙂
    My sentiments exactly, all through the wedding.
    And I don’t think you should feel bad about not being at too many weddings. I realised that a friend’s wedding is far more fun than one in the family! 😛

  4. Hemanth permalink*
    February 17, 2009 10:42 am

    @Nivi…Well, I have been evading most of the family weddings!…And it’s been so long since I have seen one that I almost forgot what it’s like to be at a wedding!..:)

  5. pradeep varma permalink
    February 20, 2009 9:23 am

    Very much impressed with your work Hemanth. hope u attend all the future weddings in your family.

  6. Srikanth-lola-Viswanathan permalink
    February 20, 2009 10:02 am

    “Some people think, some people write etc…” Nice post man!Loved reading them! I need to blog too on the marriage i attended!

  7. Hemanth permalink*
    February 20, 2009 10:09 am

    @Srikanth…thanks dude! And yeah, do lemme know when you have blogged about the marriage!..:)

  8. Hemanth permalink*
    February 20, 2009 10:10 am

    @pradeep: Next on the line is most probably yours dude…thanks for the invitation anyway!..:)

Leave a Reply

