Skip to content

Slumdog Millionaire…

January 22, 2009
by

Yes…the movie is finally releasing here in India. Only hours after the Oscar nominations are announced, the movie will open to (presumably) packed multiplexes across India on 23rd Jan, 2009. My gut feeling is that the movie will bag anywhere between 5-7 Oscar nominations including Best Film, Best Director, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Original Score. After having won all the four awards for which it was nominated in Golden Globe, expectations are high this time at the Academy Awards. Notwithstanding the criticism from some section of critics, the big debate in Indian media and also a petition filed by a slum dweller in India (apparently this chap feels that the word “Slumdog” is offensive), I except that this movie shall be appreciated by a huge chunk here in India. The only flip side is that, after all the international buzz about this movie over the past couple of months, a lot many of us (including myself) have already seen the movie. But since we don’t encourage piracy :P, I think I will go again to watch this movie in the theatres here. Thanks to some brilliant cinematography and background score, which continues to amuse even after 20 days since I first saw the movie, it definitely deserves multiples viewings. I wouldn’t understand what’s all the craze about Dev Patel is all about! The little kids in the movie are a treat to watch in the movie…watch it for them…watch it for the brilliant direction. I am sure you won’t be disappointed.

On the other side, I haven’t written a review on the movie yet. Maybe I was waiting for the official release of the movie…but then I think it was because I wanted to structure the review in a different way than my other reviews. I think I have an idea…and hopefully you will appreciate it as well. The review shall be posted in few hours on http://movies.newscrux.com

As you make your plans for the weekend, do leave a space for Slumdog Millionaire (not Slumdog Crorepati…:P) in the schedule. And for all Rahman fans, pray that he gets another award this time…sweet!

Update: Slumdog Millionaire has been nominated for a total of 10 Oscars – Best Adapted Screenplay (Simon Beaufoy), Best Picture, Best Original Score (A R Rahman), Best Song (One each for Jai Ho and O Saya), Best editing, Best Sound Mixing (Resul Pookutty), Best Sound Editing (Resul Pookutty), Best Cinematography and Best Director (Danny Boyle) at the Oscars.

Interesting thing is that Rahman has been nominated for 3 oscar awards, making him a favourite this year. Also Resul Pookutty has a good chance to win an Oscar! Ah…the total number of nominations have exceeded my expectation, but I shouldn’t be too surprised about it….World is in Love with the optimism and energy of this movie. I hope it bags atleast 5-6 of those awards in the categories in which it has been nominated. All I can sing and say is….Jai Ho…Jai Ho…

P.S: I am off to a premiere show of the movie…this is the 3rd time (and officially first) I will be watching this movie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

